A Basic Data Model

I work in Retail which involves a lot of small transactions.  Importing sales line item detail into my 32 bit system for anything more than about one year of sales just doesn’t work. I’ve gotten around this by modifying my “select” statement within Power Query to calculate sales for each item per store, per month. This allows me to comfortably import about 4 years of data which is much more useful.  With this summary data I can still create about 90% of the reports that I need.

The funny thing is, I always imagined doing something like this in SQL Server but never got around to it.  With Power Query it was easy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

